Atomic-scale Theoretical Physics with Professor Sokrates Pantelides, Vanderbilt University

Posted by – August 14, 2019

Ph.D., Physics, University of Illinois, 1973 (Thesis advisor: Professor C.T. Sah.
Thesis title: Theory of Point-Imperfection States in Semiconductors)
M.S., Physics, University of Illinois, 1970
B.S., Physics, Northern Illinois University, with Highest Scholastic Honors, 1969
Primary and Secondary School in Cyprus (1955-1966) – Valedictorian
Theoretical Physics
Semiconductor Physics
First Principles Atomic-Scale
Applied Density Functional Theory
University Distinguished Professor of Physics and Engineering, Vanderbilt University (2010-Present)
William A. and Nancy F. McMinn Professor of Physics, Vanderbilt University (1994-Present)
Professor of Electrical Engineering, Vanderbilt University (2008-present)
Distinguished Visiting Scientist, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1995-Present)
1995-1997 : Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy, Vanderbilt University
1992-1993 : Adjunct Professor, Columbia University, New York City
1991 : Program Director, Technology and Science Modeling
An interdivisional program in the use of computer modeling for semiconductor, packaging and storage technology development
1989-1990 : Executive Secretary of the Science Advisory Committee and Technical Assistant to the Vice President for Science and Technology
Primary responsibilities in reviews of corporate-wide science and technology programs, including systems and software
1987-1989 : Senior Manager, Semiconductors and Insulators
Responsible for experimental and theoretical programs in materials growth and characterization, spectroscopy, microscopy, electronic properties, chemical dynamics, radiation science, technology transfer
1985-1987 : Manager, Dynamical Processes in Solids
1984-1985 : Technical Staff to the Director of Research
1978 : Acting Chair Professor of Theoretical Physics, University of Lund, Sweden
1975 : NORDITA Visiting Professor, University of Lund, Sweden
1975-1994 : Research Staff Member, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, Physical Sciences Department
1973-1975 : Research Fellow, Stanford University (with W.A. Harrison)
American Physical Society
American Association for the Advancement of Science
Materials Research Society
Institute for Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Electrochemical Society
Elected Fellow of the American Physical Society, 1980.
IBM Outstanding Innovation Award, 1981
Invited by the Swedish Academy of Sciences to nominate candidates for the Nobel Prize in Physics, annually since 1982.
Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2003
APS Outstanding Referee Award, 2008
Elected Fellow of the Materials Research Society, 2012
Elected Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, 2015